Skip to content

Bottled Baby Giggles

September 21, 2009

This year I was privileged to become an Aunt to the most precious little girl since my own daughter!  ;o)  Naturally, I wanted to do something special to welcome Baby M into the world, so I asked my sister what I could paint for the nursery.  The conversation went something like this:

Harried Pregnant Woman:  Just anything, do anything…

Aunt 2B:  So what kind of theme are you thinking of going with for the nursery?

Harried Pregnant Woman: I don’t have a theme.   Why would you think I have a theme? *audible huff*

Aunt 2B:  Okay, what colors are you using?

Harried Pregnant Woman: Well, I’m putting the baby in what was our guest room, and after all the sanding walls, prepping, and effort to paint it the first time…I’m not changing the color now! It can stay sage green until the kid is old enough to know the difference!

Lion in Acrylic by Loren McCraney

Lion in Acrylic by Loren McCraney

So after all of that helpful direction, I decided to paint a triptych for over the crib.   I painted 2 animals, and the middle canvas is Baby M’s initials.  (I am only showing one canvas since the other two are more personalized for Baby M; she prefers to keep her anonymity because of her association with the Cute Baby Protection Program.)  I unified all of the canvases by using this simple, colorful, fun border.  I wanted to use enough color to stand out from the sage green walls, but the art can also easily transition to a new wall color as Baby M grows into a bloomin’ toddler.  ;o)

It should be noted that I have not painted in years, really…years (yes, I know it shows!).  Therefore, this project is good for anyone with a basic grasp of coloring within the lines–and not even perfectly!  ;o)  The huge, irregular border and simplified childlike animal forms make it a novice project.

Lion in Acrylics on Gallery Wrapped Canvas by Loren McCraney

Lion in Acrylics on Gallery Wrapped Canvas by Loren McCraney

These unedited pictures were taken on my deck.  This photo shows a peek at the middle canvas with the matching border, the gallery wrapped portion painted a pretty purple.  ;o)

Lion in Progress Loren McCraney

Lion in Progress Loren McCraney

Here’s our lion undergoing a makeover.  Let’s just say he had a few makeovers before he was baby-friendly, and yet enjoyable for the adults as well.  Remember, Dear Readers, it’s only paint, it can always be gessoed over!

My Sister and Brother-in-Law were happy with the end result.  And so is Baby M, who is growing like a baby weed of the adorable variety.  Last week when I visited Baby M she was grinning from ear-to-ear, and upon flight through the air–giggles ensued–the cutest laughter ever heard by mankind!  She has deeply rooted herself in our hearts, and those baby giggles made my heart jump in my chest for joy!   I remember that same feeling of jubilant love for my own giggling, happy baby.  Why can’t we bottle baby giggles for an instant lift of happiness?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. amandaelise permalink
    September 21, 2009 10:51 pm

    You are right baby giggles are awesome, even if your baby is 17 like mine. And personally i think blue and pink are overrated for kids rooms there are many more kid colors as your excellent Lion painting shows!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. September 21, 2009 10:56 pm

    Dear amandaelise, I totally agree. My kid is older than Baby M and hearing her laugh makes my day, especially if she thinks mom was funny! Baby M’s room is modern because of the sage green–I really think it makes the room more sophisticated! I agree, the days of pink and blue rooms are so done.

  3. Karen Torres permalink
    September 22, 2009 4:47 pm

    I love that idea, I’d definitely buy a baby giggles box. I love the lion painting, are you going to sell nursery art? I’d definitely be interested in some for my baby’s room.

  4. September 22, 2009 7:27 pm

    Thanks Karen! Yes, we plan on selling art to people of all ages and giggles. ;o)

Leave a Reply

