Skip to content

DIY Headboard for Your Little Princess (or the Princess in You!)

September 18, 2009

Design Sponge has a lovely step-by-step tutorial (including a video) that I think would be a great project for your little girl’s, tween/teen’s, or even your own room!  The classic architectural shape of this project is princess-style luxury.  Mexican Otomi fabric is the gorgeous textile, handmade by Otomi Indians, and has a fun graphic print that speaks to the girl in all of us. ;o)

Design Sponge DIY Otomi Headboard Project

Design Sponge DIY Otomi Headboard Project

I would add one tip to Grace’s instructions:  buy an electric knife for this project!  Using a utility knife to cut foam would make Fidel Castro cry crocodile tears!  I have done a similar project, and after the required electric shock therapy to get over the utility knife disaster–the way the electric knife sliced through foam like buttah made my heart sing!  For a project of this magnitude, don’t forget to let your electric knife rest periodically so the motor does not overheat.

Head on over to see Grace’s full post on Design Sponge, and please share your best tips and/or pictures of DIY headboard’s for your girl’s rooms with us on Fruits of Bloom!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Karen Torres permalink
    September 18, 2009 9:35 pm

    I agree about the electric knife. I also did a similar project, although mine looks more like something you’d do in sixth grade shop class, and I wish I’d been smart enough to use the right tool for the foam. Can we say lumpy?…

    Maybe I’ll try something like this again for my daughters room when she’s older.

  2. September 19, 2009 11:17 am

    As you could tell, Karen, the utility knife experience (a.k.a. Foam Hacksalot) left an impression. I have the ugliest daybed known to mankind–I’d love to slipcover it in this fabric, it’s so cheerful!

  3. Layla permalink
    March 6, 2010 7:15 am

    Hi there! I was admiring your beautiful headboard! I want to do a project myself, but I can’t seem to find a large headboard like the one you have. Where did you get yours ? What style or cut is this headboard in? Everytime I go to google to search for a headboard I keep gettting all the headboards because I don’t know what style to put in… Any help would be amazing! 🙂

  4. October 28, 2010 3:26 am

    our home decors are very nice this coming christmas because we would use glitters and satin covers`’,

  5. November 16, 2010 8:41 pm

    i would be busy again doing some home decors this coming christmas, i’d be buying some new decors for the season ,~’

  6. August 8, 2011 3:56 pm

    After examine just a few of the weblog posts on your website now, and I actually like your method of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website checklist and will likely be checking back soon. Pls take a look at my web page as properly and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

