Skip to content

Latest Favorite Tool…

September 11, 2009
Example of a swankier Wood Burning Pen than mine.

Example of a swankier Wood Burning Pen than mine.

The hardware store has always been my own version of what I would imagine is the high of crack cocaine.  That, and the office supply store, and the art supply store…but I digress.  I love tools, and supplies! My latest infatuation is with the cheapo Wally World (9 bux, 3 burning tips) wood burning pen!

Heat-sealing my ribbons used to be an exercise in pyrotechnics, but now it’s dangerous enough to leave me looking like I had a recent run-in with the mob!  With my current level of klutziness I can foresee missing digits or limbs, but so far I’ve been able to not only retain my digits but rejoice with the ease and proficiency of precision heat-sealing.  I keep finding new ways to use this tool– it can melt ribbons together, cut the ends of those whisper thin organza ribbons  (a steady hand and years of drawing helps with this one), and it can melt linoleum!  The stand isn’t especially sturdy on this cheapo version so watch for flying objects that can maim or blind.

If you’re using your tool to seal or cut something like ribbon it should be ready in just about 20 seconds from plug-in (instructions say that it takes the tool 5 minutes to heat up, which might be true for wood!).  This tool has certainly made my life easier and my hair bows look more professional.  What kinds of things have you used your wood burning tool for (other than burning wood, you Nellies! ;o) ?  Share the love of dangerous toolages and any emergency room visits you might have experienced as a result of using them!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 6:21 pm

    Your bows are beautiful and well done. The choice of accessories you use is classic and clever. Keep up the good work!!!!!!

  2. September 15, 2009 9:00 pm

    Thanks for noticing our bows! Does classic mean old? ;o) Just kidding! We Fruits of the Blooms love classic and clever!

Leave a Reply

